Community Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

Hendersonville, N.C., August 24, 2021 – Community Foundation of Henderson County is pleased to announce the appointment of five new members to their Board of Directors following their election at the organization’s June board meeting. Joining Community Foundation’s Board of Directors are Anderson Ellis, Dora Katsadouros, Tim Kriegel, Shirley McGee, and Brett Shaffer.

Anderson Ellis is a principal in the Van Winkle Law Firm’s business practice group. He works with for-profit businesses and nonprofit organizations in all phases of corporate life. He is an involved member of the community serving on the boards of Children and Family Resource Center, Henderson County Bar Association, Henderson County Chamber of Commerce, and the Partnership for Economic Development.

Dora Katsadouros and her husband Steve have owned and operated Hot Dog World since 1986 after purchasing the business from Dora’s father. She and Steve made a commitment to their community and have given back to many organizations and championed causes for 35 years. Dora is active with Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church and participates with several women’s societies.

Tim Kriegel was the Chief Financial Officer at Selee Corporation for 22 years before beginning work as a financial planner with Linder Financial Services. Tim is currently serving on the Community Foundation’s Investment Committee and has previously served on the boards of Blue Ridge Literacy Council, United Way of Henderson County, and YMCA.

Shirley McGee is a retired educator from Henderson County Public Schools. She served in the classroom and as a principal for 35 years. Shirley has previously served on Community Foundation’s Board of Directors and committees. She’s also served in a variety of volunteer capacities at Historic Johnson Farm, Four Seasons Hospice, West Henderson High School, Henderson County Education Foundation, and the North Carolina Arboretum.

Brett Shaffer is President of Morrow Insurance Agency in Hendersonville. He has served on boards and committees at Boys and Girls Club of Henderson County, Hendersonville Country Club, Housing Assistance Corporation, and United Way of Henderson County.

“In joining Community Foundation’s board, these individuals bring not only valuable knowledge and new perspective, but a commitment to the advancement of Community Foundation’s mission of helping people who care make lasting contributions to causes that matter.” says Community Foundation President/CEO McCray Benson. “We are pleased to welcome each of them to the board and look forward to having them at the table to help guide our strategic work.”

The new members are joining the existing Board of Directors that includes: Chairperson Bill McKibbin, Henderson Oil, Inc.; Vice Chairperson Stan Duncan, Retired; Treasurer Bill Hale, Retired; Secretary Caroline Gunther, Wag! A Unique Pet Boutique; Past Chairperson Cindy Causby, Retired; President/CEO McCray Benson, Community Foundation; Ken Adams, Edward Jones; Ruth Birge, Vision Henderson County; Jimmy Cowan, North Carolina Farm Bureau Federation; Wendy Frye, Henderson County Public Schools; Eric Gash, Henderson County Public Schools; Matt Henry, Retired; and Rev. C. E. Rowe, Star of Bethel Baptist Church.

The Foundation extends appreciation to Marilyn Gordon, Elisa Jarrin, Kevin Parries and Judy Stroud for their recently-concluded service to Community Foundation’s Board of Directors. Community Foundation also extends love and appreciation to two members of their board who gave many years of service to the organization, Betsy Lutz and David Marshall, both of whom passed away earlier this year. Neither member ever lost sight of the importance of Community Foundation’s mission.