Community Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

Hendersonville, N.C., August 6, 2020 – Community Foundation of Henderson County is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to their Board of Directors following their election at the organization’s August 5th board meeting. Joining Community Foundation’s Board of Directors are Ken Adams, Ruth Birge, and Eric Gash.

Ken Adams has been a Financial Advisor with Edward Jones since 2001. He is an involved member of the community having served in the past on the boards of United Way Henderson County, United Way of North Carolina, AdventHealth Hendersonville Hospital Foundation, Transylvania Regional Hospital Foundation, and Salvation Army. He and his wife, Lynn, have two daughters, Beth and Emilie; and one granddaughter, Maddy.

Ruth Birge currently serves as the Director of Vision Henderson County, a comprehensive leadership development program designed to promote informed and committed civic volunteerism. Her past positions include Executive Director of United Way of Henderson County and Publisher of the Times-News. She also serves on the boards of Blue Ridge Literacy Council and Carolina Village, and chairs the Emergency Food and Shelter Program for Henderson County.

Eric Gash is the Principal of Bruce Drysdale Elementary School and Pastor of Speak Life Ministries in Hendersonville. Eric was born in Hendersonville and is a graduate of University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. In 1994, Eric moved to the Caribbean where he became an ordained minister and served for many years. He and his family moved back to Hendersonville in 2008, and planted Speak Life Community Church. Eric and his wife, Katy, have three children; Kelan, Jacob and Maya.

“In joining Community Foundation’s board, Ken, Ruth, and Eric bring not only valuable knowledge and new perspective, but a commitment to the advancement of CFHC’s mission,” says Community Foundation President/CEO McCray Benson. “We are thrilled to welcome them to the board and look forward to working together in shaping the Foundation’s impact in our local community.”

The three new members join a 15-member board that includes: Chairperson Bill McKibbin, Henderson Oil, Inc.; Vice Chairperson Stan Duncan, Retired; Treasurer David Marshall, Retired; Secretary Caroline Gunther, Wag! A Unique Pet Boutique; Past Chairperson Cindy Causby, C & C Senior Services; President/CEO McCray Benson, CFHC; Jimmy Cowan, North Carolina Farm Bureau Federation; Wendy Frye, Henderson County Public Schools; Marilyn Gordon, Norm’s Minit Mart; Bill Hale, Retired; Matt Henry, Retired; Elisa Jarrin, Jarrin Law; Betsy Lutz, Retired; Kevin Parries, Carolina Village; Rev. C. E. Rowe, Star of Bethel Baptist Church; and Judy Stroud, Stroud Insurance Agency, Inc.