CFHC Founding Board and Leaders

More than 30 years ago, a group of inspired individuals had the dream of establishing Community Foundation of Henderson County to ensure homegrown philanthropy could take root and thrive here.

Kenneth Youngblood
attorney kenneth youngblood helped found the community foundation.

Their foresight and perseverance resulted in the creation of Community Foundation of Henderson County, a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) public charity through which people have been making lasting contributions to causes that matter for decades.

A unique feature of the Community Foundation is that it builds endowments — permanent funds that will continue to support the causes donors care about, forever.

The Community Foundation's founding directors understood these long-term benefits, and the CFHC board of directors and professional staff are deeply indebted to them for their foresight and determination.

CFHC's Founding Directors

  • The late G.M. “Bud” Campbell
  • Dr. Herbert E. Coolidge, president of Fletcher Hospital and Academy
  • Dr. Samuel C. Falvo, surgeon
  • The late Kermit Edney, president of Radio Hendersonville, Inc. and the first Community Foundation Chairman
  • The late Frank Ewbank, president of Ewbank and Ewbank
  • The late Tom Hunter, Jr., president of Hunter Chevrolet, Inc.
  • The late Morris Kaplan, secretary-treasurer of Louis Williams and Sons
  • The late Donald B. Keith, president of Brunson Furniture Co.
  • The late William H. McKay, president of First Federal Savings and Loan Association and the first Community Foundation Treasurer
  • The late Duane McKibbin, owner of Henderson Oil Co. and the first Community Foundation President
  • The late Philip R. Milroy, retired general manager of General Electric Lighting Systems
  • The late Robert A. Prosser, former president of Duriron of Canada
  • The late Robert Clinton “Clint” Thompson, former senior marketing executive of J.C. Penney
  • Kenneth Youngblood, attorney with Prince, Youngblood, and Massagee, PLLC and the first Community Foundation Vice Chairman

More Community Leaders Key to CFHC's Growth

Other community leaders who supported the early growth of the Community Foundation include:

  • Marcia Caserio, the first woman elected as the president of the CFHC board of directors.
  • The late Pierce M. Davis, a member of CFHC's first board of directors and former vice president of Irving Trust in New York.
  • Dorothy "Dot" Marlow, the first woman elected to the board of directors and former assistant vice president of Northwestern Bank.
  • Hall Waddell, second president of the CFHC board of directors and president of Reaben Oil Co.

Connect With Us